HISTORICAL OVERVIEW – MID-NORTH GHANA ADMINISTRATIVE UNIT

Mid-North Ghana Administrative Unit was proposed at the Mid-West Ghana Conference Executive Committee meeting, Action No. 049-13, on June 15, 2013, to create an Administrative Unit in Sector Two. On January 1, 2014, it was further voted to commence the administrative work on May 1, 2014.

Given this proposal, the Mid-West Ghana Conference's Executive Committee set up a Conference Survey Committee to create Sector Two as an administrative unit. The sector comprises Techiman (Sector Headquarters), Kintampo, Nkoranza, New Longoro, Tain, and Wenchi Districts. The then Ghana Union Conference (GUC) reorganized itself into political regions and districts in 2013, creating the Northern Ghana Union Mission. Of this, Atebubu, Kwame Danso, Yeji, and Kajeji Districts came to Brong Ahafo Region, making the said districts automatic members of the Mid-West Ghana Conference. These districts became Sector Four (4) in the Mid-West Ghana Conference, and now, due to the reorganization of the Mid-West Ghana Conference, Sector Four (4) became part of the Mid-North Administrative Unit in January 2014.

The first Conference Survey Committee members were Pastor Paul Danquah (chairman), Pastor Daniel Oduro-Sarpong, Pastor Seth Asare Tawiah, Pastor James Anane-Domeh (secretary), and Mr. Prosper Aforbu. The first committee meeting was held at Mr. Aforbu's office at Abosomanketere premises before meeting the leadership of the churches in the sector at the central church, Techiman.

This committee suggested Techiman as the unit's headquarters and proposed three names, but Mid-North Ghana was chosen as the unit name. The workforce of the then-Sector Two, now, the Mid-North Ghana Conference, were 17 pastors. The reorganization led to the addition of four new districts: Techiman North, Techiman South-West, Nkoranza North, and Jema out of Kintampo South District. We then organized the unit with twenty-one districts and twenty-nine workers—both field and office workers, including the unit officers—in Sectors Two (2) and Four (4).

On January 1, 2014, the Mid-West Ghana Conference chose Pastor JOHN AKUMFI AMEYAW as Director, Pastor JAMES ANANE-DOMEH as Secretary, and Elder WILLIAM AMPOAH as Treasurer to lead the Mid-North Administrative Unit, which officially commenced work on May 1, 2014.

The Northern Ghana Union, in collaboration with the Mid-West Ghana Conference, secured the Unit a two-acre land at Valley View University, Techiman, to build future conference offices and residences. The higher institution also secured the new unit a temporal office with a vehicle – 13-seater Toyota Bus.

The first conference temporal office was the former mission house for the Techiman South District. The conference started with 21 districts, namely: Atebubu Central, Atebubu South, Jema, Kajeji, Kintampo North, Kintampo South, Kwame Danso, Nkoranza East, Nkoranza North, Nkoranza South, Nkoranza West, Nsuoan or New Longoro, Tain, Techiman North,

Techiman North/East, Techiman North/West, Techiman South, TechimanSouth/West, Techiman West, Wenchi, and Yeji. However, for the sake of proximity, the Tain district decided to rejoin the Mid-West Ghana Conference following the official establishment of the Mid-North Ghana Conference in December 2014, which resulted in the election of officers for the first quadrennial session.

The workers that formed the nucleus of this conference were:

Credential Ministers Pastors

John Akumfi Ameyaw, James Anane-Domeh, Jacob Atta Ankomah, Emmanuel Opoku Takyi Gyefour, James Amoh, Peter Badu, Maxwell Obour Boateng Awuah, Ebenezer Odame Kumi, Joseph Danquah, Stephen Darkwah, Isaac Fosu, Job Owusu Ansah, and Abraham Kwame Adjei,

Licensed Ministers:

Lawrence Isaac ATTA, Samuel Yeboah Darko, Emmanuel Kojo Asare, Enock Asuah Duodo, Maxwell Antwi Quansah, Gideon Domkwaawe, and Appiah Kusi.

Ministerial Interns:

Prince Asante Kwarteng, Fredrick Gyaki, Thomas Agyapong Korsah, Sarfo Baidoo, and Gideon Boahen

Office Workers

William Ampomah, Nicholas Opoku, Sethina Efua Arthur, Augustine Asante Agyapong, and Joshua Nsiah.

Districts with Parsonage

At the time of achieving conference status, there were only 14 districts with parsonages. These were: Atebubu Central, Kintampo North (now West), Kintampo South, Nkoranza East, Nkoranza South, Nkoranza West, New Longoro, Techiman East, Techiman North/West, Techiman West, Techiman North/West, Techiman South, Wenchi, and Kwame Danso.

Churches and Membership

The conference started with 21 districts, 95 organized churches, 121 companies, and 20 Sabbath School Branches with a membership of 23,027.

In December 2014, the Northern Union organized the first quadrennial session for the unit, which attained conference status under the leadership of Pastor John Akumfi Ameyaw, Pastor James Anane-Domeh, and Elder William Ampomah. During the session, Pastor Paul Amo Kyeremeh, Pastor Ebenezer Odame Kumi, and Elder William Ampomah were elected as officers – President, Exec. Secretary and Treasurer, respectively. New districts were created in 2015 under the leadership of Pastor Paul Amo Kyeremeh, president; Pastor Ebenezer Odame Kumi,

Executive Secretary; and Elder William Ampomah, which shot up the number of the districts to 33. However, the political regional reorganization on December 27, 2018, resulted in the return of two Wenchi districts to the Bono Region, which was the political home of the Wenchi people. This reduces the number of districts currently to 31.

The new administration, led by Paul Amo Kyeremeh from 2015 - 2018, put up the office complex at Forikrom by securing a bank loan. After the change of administration, the new administration managed to pay off the loan. On 17th August 2022, some youth blocked the entrance to the temporal office, so the office must be moved to Forikrom.

Following the end of the first quadrennial, the administration changed in December 2018. Pastor Jonathan Amo Ameyaw became president; Pastor James Anane-Domeh became executive secretary; and Elder Nicholas Opoku became treasurer to begin the shift from quadrennial to quinquennial. Pastors Emmanuel Kojo Asare, Jacob Atta Ankomah, and Elder Nicholas Opoku are leading the current administration after the first quinquennial ended in December 2023.